Anti-Love Sonnet No. 1

Standard

He thinks me innocent but he is wrong.
His heart is black with malicious intent.
For I know the truth, if truth be my song.
With ev’ry breath he speaks a lie blatant.
If truth honors, his deceit dishonors
my love. What a mockery and a sham,
while he deludes and pretends to adore.
My spirit reflects the woman I am;
strong and confident, with faith in my God
to restore my spirit broken in two
by his mean intent and benign façade.
Was it a game, or was his love once true?
For it’s worthy to love another’s heart,
and contemptible to tear it apart.

Written for PAD Challenge: Day 19 to write a love or anti-love poem

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2013-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-day-19

Leave a Reply

